An Adventure to Remember

My heart pounds. I bite my lip, moving as quietly as I can in the near-darkness. I ease into my clothes and move quickly through the motions of a normal morning.

As I brush my hair and eat breakfast, I keep glancing at the clock. Hurried along by the minutes slipping by, I stuff my lunch in my backpack and bolt for the door. I wince as it slams shut behind me- no way to disguise that, Hopefully no one notices the oddly early hour. Alight with excitement, I skip down the road and work my way behind the next house down. There’s the signal. A string dangles down from a high window. Holding my breath, I give two sharp tugs. I wait. Two more. Nothing. I tug again, a long succession, and finally someone tugs back. The window cracks a little more open and a voice hisses down into the lightening morning air, “I’m up! Just a minute.”

The wait outside seems endless. Soft sounds trickle down. The window shuts. Have they been caught? What’s happening? How long can it possibly take to get dressed? I move around the the front side of the house, careful to stay out of sight of anyone looking out the front door. At last, my best friend and her sister emerge. No parents follow them. Grinning with delight at our success, we sit down in the middle of the lane together to watch the sun rise.

What adventures do you want to share?

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

