Inspiration Interview

Today, I welcome Cross Sidhe to my blog as he talks about inspiration.

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’m pagan, been pagan for about 20 years. I started off with Soloship of the Spiral Cast. I enjoy learning stuff.

What inspires you?

Well, what inspires me always changes because my needs change. A big time in my life when I needed inspiration was when I was in dialysis. I remember being really inspired by a Riddick movie. In the movie, he was in prison on a high-security planet, but when people asked what he was doing there, he would say, “I’m just passing through.” There was supposed to be no way out, but he was just passing through. I took that on as a motto. I was determined that would be me. So when I was in the dialysis center, I’d tell people I was just passing through, even though that was supposed to be way out there. Impossible. But I know nothing’s impossible.

Now, the way dialysis works is that you get set up by the insurance company. They tell you when and where to go. But that’s what is most convenient for them, you don’t really get taken into account. So I was being scheduled in the middle of the workday, at a center that meant a heavy commute, and that wasn’t going to work for me. They all assumed I would quit my job and take disability, because everyone was doing it. No. I didn’t want to quit my job. So I called around to a bunch of dialysis centers and found one that would work with me.

So the second thing I drew inspiration from was General Patton, from this quote: “We’re not going to just shoot the sons-of-bitches, we’re going to rip out their living Goddamned guts and use them to grease the treads of our tanks.” Now, those are some pretty harsh words. People find that odd if they’ve never been there. But I was getting jerked around a lot. In the dialysis center, I was dealing with understaffing and poor supplies, to the degree that it was outright illegal for them to be doing it the way they were. And on the job, I had people trying to deny me the benefits I was owed and doing other shady stuff, too. I needed that fighting spirit, to not just keep going, but to really win the fights I was in.

Wow, you’ve really found inspiration in some tough circumstances! Changing focus a bit, what has been a great experience you’ve had with inspiration?

Definitely with Burning Man. I know as a pagan and a Burner that nothing is impossible. The impossible just takes a little longer. I’ve seen stuff at Burning Man that people would say is impossible, all sorts of crazy things. A floating Dean Martin martini lounge, steam engines on the Playa, aircraft carriers, pirate ships, all sorts of amazing things. I even tried to create the first dialysis center on the Playa. The whole idea that nothing is impossible can apply to art and health.

How do you think we can all do a better job of inspiring each other?

Stop talking, start doing! Just do it, whatever it is.

Any final thoughts on inspiration that you want to share?

Follow your dreams, follow your bliss, and remember: “People who say it cannot be done should make way for the people doing it.”

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

