Interview on Home

This month, I interviewed Maia about the theme of home. She has lots of brilliant insights to share. Read on to find out what she says!

Tell us a little about yourself.

I’ve been in CAYA from close to the beginning. I was ordained in 2009, and my focus has always been home & hearth. I like old fashioned things, which helps with the hearth magic. Holding this vision cemented a lot of things that I’d known but not articulated. They suddenly became clear.

What images and feelings does the word “home” bring up for you?

“Home” mostly brings up images of comfort and safety, peace, and love. My image of home is rooted on my family, I was lucky to have the family I had growing up. They were very loving. My mom was stay-at-home for a long time. There was always an emphasis placed on family. A lot of the time, we had no money to go out, so we’d play lots of games at home together. I remember lying in bed at night listening to mom play the piano. That’s how my parents relaxed after the day’s work was done, my mom would play the piano and my dad would listen.

My home now reflects some of that. For example, I almost always have music playing at home. My home now though has a lot of Witchy aspects. They’re maybe more undercover than what some pagans use, but you would definitely see it if you knew what to look for. My house just has a Witchy sort of energy!

How do you create and sustain a good feeling in your home?

A lot of hearth magic is day to day. It’s about setting the magick or intention that you want to create. No home feels safe and comfortable if it’s full of garbage, or smells bad or anything like that. Beyond keeping things clean, I really love sounds, music, and scent (candles, or incense). The right scent can bring you to a place emotionally and spiritually really quickly.

Our homes can be this great repository of energy, but we have to put energy and work into it first. Regular care is really important. Since my home feels safe to me, I’ve used it in big magical workings for protection.

A lot of it is attitude too- lots of people think of housework as drudgery. I frame it as creating a safe and comfortable space for us (my husband and I). It’s all really going toward self-care. It takes a big shift to see taking care of the home as worthy. I had a big spiritual crisis before my Amazon Ordination about my worthiness. I was getting ordained alongside these amazing warriors and I wondered if I, with my focus on the home, really was worthy. Of course, I got told very firmly that the answer was “Yes!”. I think a lot of us have that, though, this idea that home and hearth Witchery is somehow less. I remind myself that I’m queen in my castle. I might clean it myself, but I am still Queen, and it doesn’t do for the Queen to live amongst dirty dishes and garbage. I try to bring a level of spirituality and respectability to these roles.

What suggestions would you give to someone who is struggling with feeling safe and happy in their home? What about to someone who doesn’t have a home- is there anything they can do to carry the feeling of home with them?

If you have a home, identify what’s getting in the way of you feeling safe in your home. Is it the people living with you? Living alone? Your neighborhood? Identify and deal with that first. If it’s people, there are lots of legal resources out there, take advantage. You have to be willing to take action. I’ve lived in places where I didn’t feel safe, didn’t feel like it was my home. If you do that for awhile, you start to feel like you don’t deserve better. But that’s not true. You -everybody!- deserves better than that. Better is out there, waiting for you.

Then, you have to make conscious decisions- what do you want your home to be? A refuge, a social center for your friends, what do you want for your home? From there, the sky is the limit- you can make your home anything you want it to be. For me, with school and work, I mostly want peace lately, but sometimes we throw open the doors and invite everyone over. Housewarming parties really do a lot to set the energy of the home. You can even have a new housewarming if a major shift has happened, such as housemates leaving or new people joining the family.

If you don’t have a home, first make a conscious decision that you want to have a place for yourself now, and decide what you need to do to get from point a to point b. What are the obstacles? How do you get to the next step?

In the meantime, it’s important to have something of your own wherever you’re at- a special picture, a blanket, a pillow, a little statue, some small something that’s yours that you can have out. You can charge it with the energy of what you want to have in your space. It can serve as a little piece of home for you right where you are, until you can get your own space.

Are there any final thoughts on home you want to share?

As pagans, we don’t have dedicated spaces of our own, so we learn to make our own. Think about all the sacred business you get on with in your home, the loving. laughing, crying, worshiping, magic…Our homes are our temples and we deserve to keep them that way because we deserve to live in sacred space.

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

