3 Big Questions on Gratitude

Spinning around back to where we began, I invite us all to think again about gratitude, my first theme.

1. When do you struggle with gratitude?

2. Who is it easiest to express your gratitude for? To receive gratitude from?

3. What about being an outsider makes you grateful? (Everyone’s an outsider somehow: part of a racially oppressed group in their country, Jewish, queer, a computer geek, a radical…)

Share your thoughts in the comments!

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Big Questions on Gratitude

  1. Sunsmith says:

    I am grateful to strangers who help — with information about how to find the correct bus (511 does not always have the correct answers), I am grateful for strangers who are having “problems” who show appreciation when I have helped. I am grateful for the Godesses who guide me; and provide a reason to laugh when “everything” seems to be going wrong. I am grateful for the courage of writers and producers of “early” TV who managed to get important social messages into comedy (e.g., The Three Stoges). I am grateful for a lot more, so I hope these examples provide at least an idea.

    Sunsmith

  2. Vicki Singer says:

    Answering #3. I am grateful that being a woman helps me better understand the oppression of other groups. bell hooks compared and contrasted being a woman with being Black and that helped me “get it” for the first time ever.

Leave a Reply

