Call Me Ze

As members of CAYA (Come As You Are) Coven http://www.cayacoven.org many of us are participating in Blog Action Day, each with our own perspective, experience, & approach, much as we approach our various spiritual practices. We hold each of our members’ divinity as inherent and non-negotiable. Despite our varied paths, we are unified in our commitment to equality for all living creatures. While we write in solidarity for anyone suffering #inequality today, we are more interested in what ways we can achieve more equality for tomorrow.

Names are powerful magic.

A name shouted across a room calls attention. Your name, said in just the right way, can summon pride, shame, excitement, or anger. Names called too many times, whether they belong to you or not, can wound the heart.

Call me the wrong name often enough and I begin to think that’s who I am. It wears me down, like the sea pounding against the shore of my being. I struggle to hold shape.

I am lucky. Though I went through the occasional spate of childhood teasing, I never bore the constant barrage that others did. I see reflected in the faces of loved ones too many times they’ve been called fat, stupid, slut, fag, girly and a slew of other words designed to cut them. I see the places they’ve been reduced and I call them smart, sassy, beautiful, strong, powerful.

I see their- and your- brilliance.

It is not tit for tat. #Inequality doesn’t get fixed on a payment plan and I am not asking you to see me as I am as repayment. I ask you because it is the right thing to do.

I am genderqueer. I am not she but ze, not her but zir, not Miss but Maz. These words are so small and so big. We use them all the time. The wrong words take a piece of me. The right ones heal.

Let’s all call each other by our true names.

As for me, call me ze.

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Awareness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

