Bliss Interview

Recently, I got to sit down with Quetzal and ask her about bliss. She had some great things to say.

Tell us a little about yourself, especially about you and bliss.

When I think about me and bliss, I’ve found that being true to myself brings bliss. I grew up in Christian house but that wasn’t true for me. I wanted to be happy, to connect with God, but it wasn’t until I left and explored that I began to find bliss through my spirituality. I found the Goddess.

I also find bliss through nature- hiking, backpacking, and so on. My third big “bliss trigger”, if you will, is connection with other people, be it loving friendship or partnership and sexual connection.

One of my favorite quotes comes from Joseph Campbell, in which he says, “Follow your bliss.” What does this mean to you?

I find myself going back to being true to yourself, to finding what makes you happy and working with that in life. A lot of people think that money or other things like status or a nice house that society says should make us blissful will, but we each have to find it. From my own life, my parents find bliss through the church and so they wanted that for me and told me to go to church. They thought I would find bliss there too, but it didn’t work for me.

Bliss can be going to a sports game or reading books by a creek or dancing and frolicking…there are so many ways. It’s important to find what works for you.

This quote says to me, “Find that, follow that, don’t settle for less, go seek it!”

Why do you think people are following, or not following, their bliss?

Fear. That’s why people don’t follow their bliss. They’re afraid to fall outside the norm; we’re so indoctrinated to think “this is the way things are, the way you’re supposed to be.” People box up the parts of themselves that might fall outside the norm, then are unhappy and don’t know why!

Those that follow their true path, once they find that it’s how you find happiness, they can’t help but want that. They overcome their fears because the negative of those fears doesn’t outweigh that which makes them blissful and content.

How do you strive for a blissful life?

First, getting to know to yourself, digging deep and getting to know all your facets. Then you can pinpoint what bliss is for you. I think it’s important to try different things to discover what you like. Try things within your safety zone, stay centered and grounded, but also do try new things. Stay open-minded!

Personally, I get out in nature a lot, connect with friends, go dancing, keep involved with a like-minded group of spiritual folks, check in with my friends and partner to make sure we’re all getting what we need. Also, being grateful for every moment, every day and situation, trying to find the blessing in every step is part of how I strive, and how I think others can strive, for bliss.

How can we promote bliss in our communities?

By helping everyone be aware of being grateful, and how amazing that is and how incredibly important it is to know yourself. We can create a safe environment to allow self-discovery, exploration, and self-knowledge, free of judgement.

Any final thoughts on bliss?

Bliss is absolutely attainable. It’s not something you experience every second of every day, we’re human and having imperfect experiences, but I think realizing that bliss is attainable is a good step toward being able to be in that bliss state more often.

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Bliss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bliss Interview

  1. Sunsmith says:

    Very good interview!

Leave a Reply

