Adventure Interview 2015

Recently, I sat down with Rowan to talk about adventure. She had many inspiring thoughts to share!

Tell us a little bit about yourself and adventure.

I’m a Priest/ess, a mother, and a bit of a wandering spirit. I always loved adventure, I moved a lot when I was a child, which seemed like an adventure. I was always changing and very unpredictable. I’m more stable as an adult, but childhood instilled a profound desire to be on the move, a vagabond nature. I still move more than most adults, I think. Now, I try to travel more and try to approach things with a sense of an adventure. Adventure is as much an attitude as an action, I think!

Tell us what you think about adventures, what about them leaves you feeling inspired.

Adventures can be literal: you can go somewhere new, explore, climb a mountain, go to a town you haven’t been to. Going places I haven’t been is stimulating and inspiring for me. But adventures could also be getting lost on the way to somewhere you know well. It’s about being open to possibility, embracing the unknown. The difference between an adventure and something ill-fated is often approach. Adventure is having a sense of discovery and exploration.

What was the last adventure you had?

I went to the Dickens Faire, which feels like an adventure every time, and to Pantheacon, which always feels like an adventure. Further back, I went to Scotland which was amazing. I’m always having little adventure. Life is an adventure, you never know exactly what’s going to happen. I try to be nimble and handle whatever ends up in my lap with a certain unflappable quality.

Why do you think people aren’t more adventurous and what do you think we can do to encourage people to be more adventurous?

I think there’s a few factors: fear, being afraid to step outside the confines of the familiar, is a rampant human problem. Fear of the unknown is really so sad and creates a host of problems. It’s at the root of many social issues, such as bigotry and so on. It also keeps people confined in these little boxes.

I think another big factor is complacency, apathy. People resist change and to have an adventure, you have to embrace what comes. Knowing what’s out there is less important than knowing who you are in being able to have an adventure without fearing a loss of self. Instead of embracing who they are, people stay in this little role. Conformity is the enemy of adventure.

Any upcoming adventures you want to share?

Well, this summer, I’ll be driving my daughter Constance to Wisconsin for school (and, you know, life and work). On this road trip, we’ll really get to see things. I’ve never been to Wisconsin or driven through that part of the country before.

Long term, I’m planning to go to Ireland. I profoundly believe in the power of  traveling outside one’s own country because it is so broadening and enlightening.

In a more general sense, I’d love to go be a street busker at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, do an amusement park tour of the world, and go to all the places of my ancestry, where my heritage came from (Europe, Mongolia). I have a huge list of potential adventures in my head. I hope I don’t live to have them all. Wouldn’t that be sad, to come to the end of one’s list of adventures, and have no more to do?

Do you have any final thoughts on adventure?

Go have them! Don’t hold yourself back. Take a chance. Explore. Embrace the Mystery! There’ s so much to see and learn and do, don’t stay stuck in your little box. Go and do all the things. Life is an adventure, or it should be. If it isn’t, you’re not doing it right.

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

