3 New Year’s Resolutions I Wish People Would Make

These? Are not my New Year’s Resolutions. I made mine back on the Witch’s New Year, aka Samhain/Halloween. Besides, I’m the Priest/ess of the Body Temple. I already do these things. We see plenty of body related resolutions every new year: eat better, lose weight, quit smoking. Aside from the vagueness of those first 2, there’s nothing wrong with those resolutions. But here’s three things people could do for their bodies that I wish they would.

1. I will sleep better.

I will find out how much sleep I need to feel well-rested and then make vigorous efforts to get that amount of sleep. If I don’t get the amount of sleep I need at least 3 days a week, I will know something is wrong. Coincidentally, I will also stop kidding myself that there’s a difference between the amount of sleep I need and the amount that leaves me feeling refreshed. This is akin to saying, “Just because I’m hungry all the time doesn’t mean I need more food. I’m not dying.” No, but if I can eat enough, or sleep enough, I should! I’m willing to try setting bedtime reminders/alarms, setting my computer or TV to shut down at a certain time, setting out my clothes and packing ahead of time, changing my kid’s bedtime, meditation, exercise, sex, and damn near anything else that will reduce my stress enough for me to sleep well.

2. I will take responsibility for my health and my body.

I will get an annual physical and a flu shot. I will learn more about any on-going health conditions I have. I will take my vitamins. I will figure out what physical and emotional experiences leave me feeling good in my body and pursue them. If I am in pain, either now or periodically, I will see what I can do to reduce or eliminate that pain.

3. I will be good to myself when I get sick.

I will take immune boosters at the first sign I’m getting sick. I will rest. I will drink plenty of fluids. I will, if at all feasible, take time off work. I will advocate for paid sick days if my workplace doesn’t have them. If taking time off work will get me fired or leave me in dire financial straits, I will take it easy at work to the best of my ability. I will ask for help. If I am a parent, I will see if someone can help with my kids. If my condition worsens or goes on too long, I will get medical help.

Above all, I will not feel guilty about taking care of myself and my body.

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in body temple, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

