One Pagan’s Ethics and Personal Protection

I’ve always been intrigued by fealty. I love books with good kings (yes, pretty much all the ones I read as a kid had kings, not queens) and their loyal knights. There’s something sacred about that bond which really resonates with me. Knights go into battle for the king’s sake. The king comes through for his knights when they need him.

In these times, who are we loyal to? Who is under our personal protection? And what does that mean?

All those who I am loyal to are not under my protection but all those under my protection are people I am loyal to. Those under my particular protection are also vulnerable. They either don’t have any or don’t have enough protectors. They are people I know and love.

How do I protect them? Sometimes, I am far away. For me, protection means I patrol the boundaries. Like a scout sent out to find raiders attacking the kingdom’s borders, I check for intrusions. Is something keeping you from sleeping? Are you being treated badly at work? Are you compromising your own boundaries, not properly maintaining your health? I offer my word, my wit, my ears, my strength, and my magic. Let me have your back. You can count on me to cover you.

How do you determine who is under your protection? How do you offer it? Share in the comments!

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Pagan Ethics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Pagan’s Ethics and Personal Protection

  1. Pingback: One Pagan’s Ethics and Protecting Community | Everyday Sacred

Leave a Reply

