An Open Letter of Gratitude

I’ve been thinking about who I’m grateful to, and for what, this month. Here are some open letters to just a few of the people special to me.

Dear mom,

Thank you for having me. Thank you for feeding me. Thank you for reading to, in front of, and with me. Thank you for that time you wrote a computer program to help me with my subtraction. Thank you for letting me play in the foundations as you built our houses. Thank you for teaching me how to use a hammer, even though I’m still not that great at it. Thank you for playing endless rounds of Disney songs on the piano. Thank you for listening to me and encouraging me.

Dear Laur,

Thank you for being my sister. Thank you for hide and seek games. Thank you for climbing trees and other things we weren’t supposed to climb with me. Thank you for making up silly dances and dancing them to Disney songs. Thank you for fashion advice. Thank you for sharing books. Thank you for raised eyebrows and a shared sense of sarcasm. Thank you for soccer practices. Thank you for competing with me until I knew how to stand up for myself and having my back when I needed it.

Dear Skip,

Thank you for being with me. Thank you for frank conversations. Thank you for keeping your word. Thank you for middle of the night cuddles when I’ve had a nightmare. Thank you for that one time you drove all day in circles trying to find me because I called and I needed you. Thank you for taking me to the hospital. Thank you for small daily kindness when I’m going through a rough patch. Thank you for nudging me to notice when I’m going through a rough patch. Thank you for asking questions and helping me find solutions. Thank you for always being ready to listen. Thank you for teaching me about how love makes us truer to ourselves even as it changes us.

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Open Letter of Gratitude

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the issue is something that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I’m very joyful that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

