If You Thought I Was Nasty Before

A post-election poem for those of us about to get nastier

If you thought I was nasty before

You haven’t seen anything yet

Before you called me nasty for standing in the sun

For demanding my share of power

Light

Attention

 

But now I’m standing in the shadows too

I’m right behind you

Everywhere you go

At the edge of your vision

At the edge of the world

Reminding you that there is more to be seen

 

Now I am standing in the darkness

And every time the lights go off

A chill runs up your spine

The darkness is vast and powerful

And the sliver of the moon

Only tells you that all things must wane

 

Of course, I have been here this whole time

But now your gut knows it

The vision haunts you

Until nightmares become a dream

A shimmer of possibilities

Unfolding

We are unfolding

Ceaseless

Unstoppable

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Social Justice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If You Thought I Was Nasty Before

Leave a Reply

