Bringing Joy to My Community

I’m fortunate to be of a naturally positive bent. It’s easy, most of the time, to look on the bright side or at least find a silver lining. The pagans in my life have a way of phrasing blessings that rolls off my tongue these days. Coworker struggling with a difficult roommate? May any conflicts be resolved and may they have an easy home situation! Family member having health problems? May they be healed and at ease! Sometimes, joy is as simple as reminding those involved that there is a future, there’s a moment past this difficulty.

Sometimes joy is bigger, more complex. Sometimes it means putting together a ritual, or working determinedly through a long work project for the pay off at the end. In pagan spaces, a lot of the joy that I bring requires listening. Whether I’m listening to the needs of people and responding by making space to meet them, or listening inward to the voice of the Divine and passing on the message that needs to be heard, I work to comfort, inspire, and bring joy.

How do you bring joy to your community? Share in the comments!

About Melissa ra Karit

I'm a queer, poly, genderqueer Witch. I'm a sex-positive feminist, an activist, and a writer. I believe that when we attend to our individual good, we approach the world with good in our hearts and change the world for the better. Opinions expressed here are solely my personal opinions, and do not represent the views of any organization with which I am affiliated.
This entry was posted in Joy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

